Busy

“There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.” ― Beverly Sills

This quote absolutely wraps up my previous week of work at TWS.

-To begin, my fellow communications intern left TWS… leaving me with a handful of extra responsibility.

-Next, I have learned the true necessity of cc in emails AND a new appreciation for technology (explained later).

-Last tid-bit, I’m sorry for not posting last week! I can explain.

I helped put together the support book for Columbine Hondo’s debut with congress this Wednesday the 20th! The subcommittee will be reviewing the legislation and answering questions others may have about adding Columbine Hondo to the National Wilderness Preservation System.

There is over a thousand signed letters from businesses, organizations, communities and individuals organized with this document.  As well as clips of ANY and ALL news articles/reports on the wilderness area. This was very tedious work and had to be perfect because it was being shared with CONGRESS and many other eyes. Im proud to share with you the finished product.

If it wasn’t for technology this never would have come together. The document was due Friday by 5:00 to be sent off to representatives and senators, the deadline was CRITICAL. The biggest problem was organizing the thousands of signed letters that were distributed across the COUNTRY. Being able to scan the letters and upload them to a document that we all were sharing was INCREDIBLE. An organization that is spread from Alaska to North Carolina, without technology we would be lost.

Now, my new found understanding and love for cc in emails came from everyone being able to stay on track with no horrible confusion. Even if the conversation had nothing to do you, the information was always an asset to know. The Wilderness Society is the best organizational communications team I have ever seen. I am so thankful I have had the opportunity to work with theses inspiring professionals.

I have some exciting news as well; I will be attending the congressional meeting Wednesday at the Capitol

I am so excited!

Stay tuned, Ill be back Wednesday with more information!

Leave a comment