Finishing up

So much to do with so little time….

Last week was exhausting but exciting and rewarding to say the least.

The time and effort I put into the Columbine Hondo support book has already paid off! I have been assigned to work with Meghan Kissell, who works for Conservation Land Foundation –CLF, as their National Monuments Campaign Director.  I am organizing another support book… And yet again its time sensitive. Legislation for Brown’s Canyon lands designation is expected to be introduced December 3rd and I am responsible for the support book that is sent to congress.

Working with Meghan from CLF has been a joy but more so a blessing. So far she has opened my mind and doors to hopeful avenues in the communications world. She has worked with the American Diabetes Association− ADA, Spitfire Strategies and now the communications director for CLF. She has introduced me to a website, Progressive Exchange which serves as a communications forum… a professionals helping professionals site with information on ad-buys, jobs, web development, etc.

I have recently applied for a job in Orlando Florida with the ADA. Meghan said she would send my resume over along with her recommendation to an old colleague from the ADA.  Since I am on the job/internship hunt I asked her for suggestions of any interesting places to work… Meghan quickly pulled websites up and somehow offered me to intern with her in January.

I don’t know what I’m going to do. My time with The Wilderness Society is ending and I don’t have a plan, I’m clueless to what’s next? I have learned a lot through The Wilderness Society, and after the four years of college I thought I was destined to do policy and lobbying… but after my internship, I know different. I am currently looking for an internship in marketing/sales and or fundraising. I like the environmental cause and non-profit work but I want to take more of a business route within it.

With that being said I have also looked into studying ABROAD! Auckland University in New Zealand, for a Masters of Management, specializing in business marketing.

I don’t know what life will bring, but I’m interested in taking the road less traveled and leaving a path for those to follow.

Leave a comment