Columbine Hondo

The best Government in the World….

U.S. Senate committee on Energy and Natural Resources discussed senate legislation S. 776, to establish the Columbine-Hondo Wilderness in the State of New Mexico, to provide for the conveyance of certain parcels of National Forest System land in the State, and for other purposes.

This committee hearing, which was 2 hours long, is the reason I spent two weeks working on the Columbine Hondo support book. The support book was actually used in the senate meeting, referring to some facts and name dropping organizations in favor of the legislation. I am so proud of the work I have put into this campaign and will be elated if Columbine Hondo is designated with 45,000 acres of protected wilderness.

Most of the meeting was focused on other concerns but I have noted a few moments S. 776 was mentioned during the hearing. Here is a video of the meeting, click through to 00:48:00 to hear Udall, TWS leading supporter comment, as well as, 01:22:00 when Weidon mentions support of Columbine Hondo. Unfortunately, the meeting started late and I had to leave due to my night job. I cant wait to get a “big girl job” soon I hope!

VIDEO

I have learned so much about our government and the honest beauty that can come from it. I have never been so “proud to be an American.” It’s a slogan you hear often but with my time learning and working with our government I have never realized how blessed I truly am.

I look forward to the results of Columbine Hondo designation and I’ll keep you posted!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment